Follow @EberlyLibraryWU
Banner Image

RESOURCE GUIDE: NURSING

WELCOME

The Eberly Library staff is committed to providing quality service to the students and faculty of the nursing programs.  Regular orientations are scheduled at the off-site campuses, hospitals and on the main campus.  Advanced research training is also offered and the Librarian will gladly field research-related questions by Email, Ask-a-Librarian links on these web pages and in EBSCOhost and by telephone (724-852-3254) or, by appointment, Dr. Blake will travel to off-campus sites to do face-to-face refreshers and database training with small groups or individuals before class periods.  Use this librarian contact information: rblake@waynesburg.edu

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FOR?

FOR MORE ADVANCED SEARCHING, CHOOSE A TAB ABOVE.

FIND IT! 

Find books, etc

 

                 

 

SEARCH THE EBERLY LIBRARY CATALOG & LIBRARIES WORLDWIDE!

  Eberly Catalog    What does Waynesburg own?  What's checked out or not? Search for books, e-books, journals, reserves, a/v materials, etc., at the library. 

Use the catalog to find the location, call number, and availability


Search this digital library for e-books and e-audiobooks on a variety of subjects including the humanities, social sciences, and religious materials.
      ­ ­­­Click the icon above to start an advanced search or use Quick Search below 


 
A searchable e-book collection with content that spans all academic subject areas.  Explore further under "all subjects."    Click the Icon to start an advanced search or use Quick Search below ↓
 

 

 

 

Find book citations (articles and multimedia) world-wide.  Good for citation hunting and seeing what other libraries own an item.(If you find a book in another library--that is not in Eberly Library's collection--you may request it through Interlibrary Loan--click here for ILL.)

                    

TIPS: Use the Advanced Search features in these Search Engines! Also setup accounts in these platforms to save and manage your results and citations with email and/or RefWorks and EasyBib.  

    OR: Click Here for Free eBooks Online & Public Domain Documents

 

Quick Links for Citations, Abstracts and many full text Articles for research across the curriculum. 

 EBSCOhost 
graphic EBSCOhost Search 

Look here for articles from journals, magazines, & newspapers & more.


  JSTOR

  A digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content.

    LexisNexis Academic

  Search for news, legal, companies, business, accounting, environment, government, politics, and more.

Points of View 

 Full text database of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue from the world’s top political and societal publications.


    Journal A-to-Z list or  Eberly Catalog   

See this list of Waynesburg's periodical and e-journals to find and search for journal titles, holdings and access.

Free access to journals published on the web. Many from smaller and third world publishers.

It's recommended to discover and use Subject Headings, when possible, for focused searching, and to set up "Accounts" to save and manage results and searches in EBSCO, etc. 
  • Naxos Jazz Library
    Search and play tracks from this comprehensive Jazz library including R&B and Blues selections. Search by catalogue number, composer /artist / performing group, or instruments/labels/country.
  • Naxos Music
    Search and play tracks from the world's largest online classical music library. Find educational text resources include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary of musical terms, work details and analyses for many major works.
Loading

Ask A Librarian

SEND A QUESTION OR REQUEST TO
Dr. Richard D. Blake
Librarian for Nursing & Allied Health Information & GAPS.

CLICK LOGO ABOVE OR LINK BELOW AND FILL OUT THE ASK-A-LIBRARIAN FORM.

USING RESEARCH RESOURCES FOR NURSING PROGRAMS

Choose from the tabs above to search for articles and books or for citation management and other resources.

HINTS: detemine what sort of information you need.  Current peer-reviewed discussion? --an article search.  General, standardized knowledge? --use a book search.

Best searching goes beyond Keyword and Topical guessing to use SUBJECT HEADINGS.   Learn to limit broad search results by SUBJECT or even to use the SUBJECT SEARCH tab for controlled terms in a more focused result set.  A Librarian can assist you with this technique.  SEE ALSO the tab on EVIDENCE BASED RESEARCH for more Best Practice Tips.

TIP for Evidence Based Practice Searches:

Copy and paste any of these into a search box.

(“systematic review*” OR “clinical trial” OR “controlled trial” OR “meta-analysis” OR “practice guideline*" or “evidence-based")

Put your other search terms (your topic) in another box.

Another TIP: Because Titles are mini-abstracts, try using a key Keyword, e.g., "model," in a search box and select the optional TITLE field!

COLBERT ADVICE

   CLICK ON COLBERT TO ASK-A-LIBRARIAN