Skip to main content
Banner Image

Business Research Guide: HOME

BASIC RESOURCES

The Eberly Library staff is committed to providing quality service to the students and faculty of the business programs and classes.  Orientations are scheduled at the off-site campuses and on the main campus.  Advanced research training is also offered and the GAPS librarian will gladly field research-related questions by Email, EBSCO's Ask-a-Librarian link and telephone (724-852-3254) or, by appointment, he will travel to off-site campuses to do face-to-face refreshers and database training with small groups or individuals before class periods.  Use the librarian contact information.

SELECT A BUSINESS RESOURCE:   

OR FURTHER LIBRARY HELPS and OPTIONS, CLICK  on GREEN TABS ABOVE

(Off-campus, log in with your MyConnect username & password, as necessary)

For Help, Ask-a-Librarian 

search for fulltext articles, abstracts & citations in the standard EBSCO interface.

EBSCOhost Business Related Databases search for fulltext articles, abstracts & citations in the advanced search screen with pre-selected business databases. http://search.ebscohost.com

Or, to choose specific databases go to: EBSCOhost DATABASES Profiles & A to Z Link  (log in with your MyConnect username & password) 

For even more options use the Book tab.  

   

Hoovers Insightful Information about Industries, Companies, & The People who Lead Them. Search this business database for information to find comprehensive insight on companies, people and industries to develop, plan and execute sales, marketing and business strategies. http://www.mergentonline.com/Hoovers

Value Line

Value Line Investment Survey one of the most widely consulted, independent investment newsletters with daily stock quotes and analysis.  http://www.valueline.com

 All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.  http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/companysearch.html

The premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. http://www.privco.com

 

WestLawNext   WestSearch™ is the world's most advanced legal search engine. It leverages over 100 years of West's editorial analysis of the law, and it emulates the best practices of experienced legal researchers. https://1.next.westlaw.com/

Search by country or topic for information such as: climate, demographics, society, culture, business practices, security, points of interest, and more.  http://www.globalroadwarrior.com

  Abstracts are available from May 1, 1973 to within 1 day of publication.Current issues can be found in the Eberly Library. Call the library at 724-852-3278 to access the newspaper at: http://online.wsj.com/.

Sign up for a free account for the New York Times with your WU email address to begin enjoying the benefits of membership.

Try these websites for lists of international news media.  Don't forget WestLaw has an extensive news section!

United States Census Bureau

The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.

http://www.census.gov/manufacturing/cir/index.html

BusinessUSA.gov is a collaborative effort managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration. Partnering executive departments include Department of Commerce (DOC), Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Department of the Interior (DOI), Department of Justice (DOJ), Department of Labor (DOL), and Department of Transportation (DOT). Business.gov also partners with the following independent agencies and government corporations: Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), General Services Administration (GSA), and Social Security Administration (SSA).

Trademark Electronic Search System, U.S. Patent & Trademark Office  Search for the owners of federally registered United States Trademarks.  Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS). This search engine allows you to search the USPTO's database of registered trademarks and prior pending applications to find marks that may prevent registration due to likelihood of confusion refusal.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-b0XdKVX8pp0/Uij9AvpHeFI/AAAAAAAAADE/vK0QIafxqe4/s1600/CIA-FACTBOOK.png The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. We share this information with the people of all nations in the belief that knowledge of the truth underpins the functioning of free societies.

The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Loading

Ask A Librarian

SEND A QUESTION OR REQUEST TO
Dr. Richard D. Blake
Librarian for Nursing & Allied Health Information & GAPS.

CLICK LOGO ABOVE OR LINK BELOW AND FILL OUT THE ASK-A-LIBRARIAN FORM.

APA Helps

For help with formatting papers and works cited lists, refer to one of these resources for APA style.